A Chocolate Chip Off the Quick Bread

It wasn’t something I was planning on, but something lead me to it. Outside, it’s been very cold … bones freezing and a horrid cough creeps in and out of me, provoked by the cold air. My body craves warmth, deeper than what Vicks vapor rub can do for my respiratory system. I find myself therefore standing in the middle of my kitchen where I see the oven and the burners, the only hearth I know can yield the warmth my body desperately needs to get me over this terrible cold lingering inside my system.

I want something that goes well with tea. Jasmine tea, ginger tea and lemon tea have been the drink of choice these past couple of months to warm the throat and tone down this unsparing barrage of cough coming from me. Frankly, without any added sweetener, the tastelessness finally wears my palate down, and the drab inside my mouth searches for something to compliment tea.

Given the ingredients available to me, I came up with a gluten free chocolate chip bread. In the pantry, there were chocolate chips, sugar, a medley of gluten free flours and olive oil. I still had a tub of sour cream from Costco that needed to be finished along with some eggs. I wanted to use all of these and ended up putting together a somewhat decent gluten free quick bread that I believe matches tea very well.

Chocolate Chip Bread
Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Bread

Dry:
80 g garbanzo bean flour
60 g potato flour
20 g coconut flour
100 g tapioca starch
40 g arrowroot starch
1/2 t xanthan Gum
1/2 t baking Soda
1/2 t salt (Kosher)
1 1/2 t baking soda

Wet:
150 g sugar
1/3 C olive oil
1 C sour cream
1 C milk
2 ea eggs
1 t vanilla

2 C chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375*. Grease or coat 2 one pound loaf pans and set aside.

Combine and whisk together all the dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl; set aside. In another bowl, whisk together all the wet ingredients until sugar is dissolved. Pour the liquid mixture into the bowl with the dry ingredients and mix until all the flour mixture is moistened. Fold in the chocolate chips until well distributed throughout the batter.

Divide the mixture evenly between the two loaf pans and bake in a 375* oven for 20 minutes. Turn the loaf pans and bake another 20 minutes, this time turning the oven heat down to 325*.

Let the loaves cool for 15 minutes. Slice and eat to your heart’s desire! With tea, of course!

Afterthought:

There are plenty of recipes out there on the internet, more alike in so many ways, but different because they are found in different sites. It is the baker’s duty to read these recipes and catch the anomalies, inconsistencies and edits these recipes undergo because though they look good on paper, how it looks in the bowl sometimes goes against the baker’s instincts. I didn’t realize I had these instincts until I came across a recipe I was trying out which at the end simulated cookie dough rather than a loose quick bread batter. At first sight of this quick bread, I thought my entire body was at a standstill. My mind couldn’t move forward and was urging me to add liquid. Had I not added some milk into the batter, this entire blog entry might be saturated with disappointment rather than pride and joy. So for all the bakers out there, novice or experienced, do not ignore those baker’s instincts when you proceed through a recipe… or else you might just regret slicing into a rock rather than a piece of bread. Best of luck and Happy Holidays!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

